Bad At Sports

Musings on crafts, cooking, travel and books…but not a bat or ball in sight

New year, new knits January 5, 2011

Filed under: fashion,knitting — badatsports @ 9:14 pm
Tags: , ,

My knitting needles have been still of late while I revelled in  post-Christmas lethargy. However now I am back to work, the last leftovers have been eaten and the glut of family friendly musical films on TV have dried up I am ready for a new project.

I started knitting three or so years ago, a hobby principally started to keep my hands away from sweets and other fattening snacks while I hibernated in my non centrally heating apartment in Japan. But now knitting is cool and no longer just the domain of jam making silver haired octogenarians; I mean can you imagine a WI member rocking up to a Stich N Bitch meet?

My favourite knitting blog of the moment is French Press Knits. There’s beautiful photography and some inspirational designs. I’m determined to make this scarf before the end of winter, though being based in the UK  means I have at least five or six months to complete it.


There are plenty of beautiful knits in the shops to be found too:

It looks like Fair Isle will be usurping cables in 2011. I am completely in love with this jumper and cardigan featured on the front of the Debbie Bliss Magazine:

Happy knitting everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

