Bad At Sports

Musings on crafts, cooking, travel and books…but not a bat or ball in sight

Two colour brioche stitch scarf February 26, 2011

Filed under: knitting — badatsports @ 11:17 am
Tags: , , ,

I have been absent from the blogosphere for too long now. I have a multitude of reasons, having way too much fun watching and supporting my husband Tim who is in the final 12 of Masterchef UK, job hunting, reviewing theatre productions for Extra! Extra!, dipping my toe into Twitter land and working on a new scarf. However the tardiness of the UK postal system is no longer a reason as the scarf I made for my mother-in-law finally arrived about a month after I sent it.

It was meant to be a Christmas present but I didn’t quite finish it in time, but living in chilly Wisconsin I am told she is getting some wear out of it now. As Nancy is an avid Packers fan ( a long term one, not a glory seeker because they won the Superbowl this year) I was advised to go for green and gold, mighty Green Bay’s colours.

I found the pattern at Run and Not grow Weary here. I wanted a slightly chunkier scarf than the one pictured so I went for Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Chunky in Old Gold and Rico Melange green mix yarn (2 balls each) and 8mm circular needles. The green does have some colour change in it like the Rico wool originally used, but it’s quite subtle. Just a warning – It’s a really difficult pattern to unpick. I found the tips on the Run and Not grow Weary blog very useful to try and avoid having to undo it. Happy knitting!

 

One Response to “Two colour brioche stitch scarf”

  1. Nancy Anderson Says:

    My Green Bay Packer scarf certainly is getting use, and lots of comments! In the land of green and gold, I have an original, and it is particulary special because it was made for me by my lovely daughter-in-law!, Laura! I love it, and it keeps me warm!


Leave a Reply

